Winter Olympics Cooking ~ Day #15 – Germany

Since I did so well eating the Norway meal I disliked in the past, I figured why not do another meal that doesn’t sound too appetizing to me?! Enter Germany. I don’t dislike German food. I just dislike sauerkraut. Which is pretty amazing considering the fact that I could have eaten a whole bag of that stuff when I was a kid!

For our German meal we ate Bratwurst Stewed with Sauerkraut, German-Style Creamed Spinach, and Soft Pretzels.

The Bratwurst was cooked in onions, garlic, sauerkraut, paprika, and chicken stock. The paprika definitely helped give the sauerkraut a different flavor. Fresh dill was supposed to be added when the meal was done cooking, but I forgot. Oops! Which actually bummed me out because I think that would have tasted delicious.

The Creamed Spinach was AMAZING! It consisted of onions, heavy cream, gouda cheese, and nutmeg. I don’t have nutmeg in my spice collection. I think nutmeg taste a bit like pine-sol so I stray a way from it. However, I did have Pumpkin Pie Spice which has nutmeg in it. I threw that in the spinach instead and it tasted pretty fantastic!

The Soft Pretzels were the frozen pretzels that you can buy at the grocery store. The ones that I craved like crazy when I was pregnant with Little Miss Gigli! I just wasn’t up for the task of making soft pretzels from scratch.

DSC_0932

We have three more meals to go! What will they be??

Would you like to try one of these recipes? Just follow the links below!

Bratwurst Stewed with Sauerkraut – http://www.cookingchanneltv.com/recipes/michael-symon/bratwurst-stewed-with-sauerkraut.html

German-Style Creamed Spinach – http://www.cookingchanneltv.com/recipes/german-style-creamed-spinach.html

Leave a Reply

