Winter Olympics Cooking ~ Day #13 – ITALY!

I’m Italian. Oh my goodness…are you shocked!? Which means that our country last night was Italy!

A part of me wanted to try a brand spanking new Italian recipe, but an even bigger part of me just wanted some good old fashioned spaghetti and meatballs. Spaghetti always wins!

Dinner consisted of spaghetti, meatballs, salad, and mascapone brownies.

Confession time: I’m typically a jar sauce kinda girl. It’s just so much easier than waiting an hour or whatever to simmer some tomatoes. However, for the Olympics I made my own sauce. I just had to. For this I turned to Jamie Oliver’s Basic Tomato Sauce recipe.

DSC_0912

Plum tomatoes getting ready to simmer

Meatballs are honestly pretty straight forward. I really only glance into my Better Homes and Gardens cookbook to refresh my memory on the temperature and cook time. You can really add whatever you want to your meatballs. I’m a green pepper and onion person. My mom loves garlic in her meatballs. And guess what? I still think she makes the BEST meatballs! I don’t even try to attempt making her meatball recipe because I would just do it all wrong.

The beaten up falling apart cookbook

The beaten up falling apart cookbook

Now I know everyone was expecting some fresh pasta from me. Yeah…that’s not happening. We do own a pasta maker but man! It’s just too much work! It’s a 5 person job! So the boxed stuff it was!

DSC_0919

Dessert was supposed to be tiramisu but I could not find lady fingers anywhere! So instead I made Mascapone Brownies. They were amazing!

DSC_0925

So what will our next meal be? Something I’m kinda scared of!

Do you want to try some of these yummy recipes?? Just follow the links below! 

Sauce – http://recipecircus.com/recipes/carolyn/PASTA/Jamie_Oliver39s_Basic_Tomato_Sauce.html

Meatballs – http://www.bhg.com/recipes/how-to/cooking-basics/how-to-make-Italian-meatballs/

Mascapone Brownies – http://www.thekitchn.com/recipe-one-bowl-mascarpone-bro-84470

3 thoughts on “Winter Olympics Cooking ~ Day #13 – ITALY!

Leave a Reply

