Winter Olympics Cooking ~ Day #2 – RUSSIA!

The rule in our household is that for the Opening Ceremony night we eat a meal from the host country. I am so excited that it is Russia because we made one of my FAVORITE dishes ever!

SHCHI !!! Aka: Cabbage Soup

Ziti first made this in 2010 and I automatically turned my nose up at it. It sounded disgusting. Cabbage soup?? Ick! But oh my word…it was amazing!

It includes all sorts of yumminess such as potatoes, tomatoes, carrots, radish, and onions.

Adding sour cream to your bowl makes it 500 times better!

We’ve been using the recipe from food.com the past 3 Olympics and I have no desire to alter it or try something new.

Hello Mr. Cabbage! Are you ready to become SOUP??

Hello Mr. Cabbage! Are you ready to become SOUP??

Vast amounts of veggies all prepped.

Vast amounts of veggies all prepped.

DSC_0802

Carrots, Radish, Onions, Leeks, and Garlic all dancing in butter! YUM!

Cabbage, tomatoes, and potatoes thrown in. It is overwhelming!

Cabbage, tomatoes, and potatoes thrown in. It is overwhelming!

The finished product! I wish I could transport the delicious smell to your nose!

The finished product! I wish I could transport the delicious smell to your nose!

I also went a bit crazy with dessert. I generally don’t enjoy baking. All of that flour and what not just drives me a bit crazy! Therefore, I am quite proud of myself for making Russian Tea Cakes!

Cute little tea cakes!

Cute little tea cakes!

My question now is…what country do we tackle tomorrow??

Do you want to try Shchi and Russian Tea Cakes? Follow the links for the yummy recipes!

Shchi – http://www.food.com/recipe/shchi-russian-cabbage-soup-309210

Russian Tea Cakes – http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Russian-Tea-Cakes-I/Detail.aspx?evt19=1

Leave a Reply

